Skip to main content
ChipItRight
Brand guide05 models

Farmry Woodchippers

Every Farmry woodchipper model, ranked and reviewed — with the clear verdict on which one to actually buy.

By Daniel Ashford
Our rating
3.1
avg across 5 models
Models covered
5
2 PTO · 3 gas
Warranty
12 months on all equipment, with extended coverage offered as an add-on
manufacturer
Price range
$719–$1,999
MSRP
HQ
117 Innovation Drive
Est. Not disclosed
Farmry WCAP5 5-inch PTO woodchipper, orange and black, on its transport stand with the model name on the discharge chute
Flagship model

Farmry WCAP5 5-inch PTO Woodchipper

Farmry's base 5-inch gravity-feed PTO chipper on a 25-inch four-blade disc. Rated 5 inches in green wood and 4 inches in dry hardwood. Sold at the same URL as the older WCAP130.

Max branch
5"
Tractor
15–45 HP
Price
$1,698

Farmry sells tractor attachments direct from Statesville, North Carolina — chippers, stump grinders, flail mowers, backhoes, and snow blowers. Chippers are a minority of that catalog, and only five of the seven models with published manuals are currently purchasable. There is no dealer network and no Amazon storefront.

Two things make Farmry worth a look. It undercuts the market on price per inch of capacity, and it handles the buying experience better than the other value-import brand in this category — MechMaxx, whose Trustpilot score is 2.9 against Farmry’s 4.4 and whose BBB rating is an “F”. We break that matchup down model by model in Farmry vs MechMaxx. Two things should give you pause: a 12-month warranty, the shortest of any brand we cover, and no independent owner reports for these chippers at all.

If you own a 15–45 HP compact tractor, start with the best PTO wood chipper by tractor HP to see where Farmry sits against Woodland Mills and Woodmaxx.

The lineup05 ranked

Farmry, every model.

Our #1 pickFarmry
Farmry WCAP5 5-inch PTO woodchipper, orange and black, on its transport stand with the model name on the discharge chute
#1 pick

Farmry WCAP5 5-inch PTO Woodchipper

Farmry's base 5-inch gravity-feed PTO chipper on a 25-inch four-blade disc. Rated 5 inches in green wood and 4 inches in dry hardwood. Sold at the same URL as the older WCAP130.

Best forCompact-tractor owners on a hard budget who want 5-inch green-wood capacity and accept a 12-month warranty and no service network.

Max branch
5"
Tractor
15–45 HP
Price
$1,698
01

Where is Farmry equipment made?

Overseas, and Farmry says so itself. Its Our Story page states that the company is “built to last: overseas production partners with proven agricultural experience,” and summarises its own position as “global manufacturing, proudly supported in the USA.” Equipment is stocked, inspected, and shipped from warehouses in North Carolina and California.

The component evidence is consistent with Chinese manufacturing and is checkable from Farmry’s own parts catalog. Bearings are specified to GB/T standards — the Chinese national standard — blades are 4CrSi, a Chinese chromium-silicon steel grade, and the engines are DUCAR and Rato, both Chinese manufacturers. Forum consensus reaches the same place more bluntly, describing Farmry as an import operation in the same mould as Titan and MechMaxx.

Worth being precise about one thing: posters often assume these brands share a single factory. We found no evidence of a specific shared factory for Farmry, so we are not going to assert one. The import pattern is the same; the factory is unverified.

Note also that Farmry publicly disowns farmry-usa.shop as an unauthorized site using its name and logo. Order from farmry.com only.

02

Is Farmry legit? The buying experience, compared

Yes, and it rates better than the obvious comparison. Farmry holds 4.4 out of 5 from 472 Trustpilot reviews on a claimed profile, with no BBB complaint record we could find. MechMaxx, the other value-import brand we cover, sits at 2.9 on Trustpilot with a BBB rating of “F” and nine complaints. On buying experience alone, Farmry is the stronger of the two.

The recurring complaint is stock accuracy rather than quality. Several reviewers describe an item showing as in stock at order time and then taking two weeks or more to ship, and typically dock a star for it while praising the machine itself. Quoted delivery is 11–14 business days.

Customer service splits by individual rather than by policy. Multiple reviewers call it “top notch” with rapid replies, and one repeat chipper buyer had Farmry techs fabricate a custom quick-hitch bracket for him. Others describe poor handling of a lost order while still naming the rep who eventually helped. Farmry does route pre-sale, logistics, and after-sales to separate addresses, which is better structured than most brands this size.

03

The 12-month warranty is a parts promise, not a repair promise

Every Farmry machine carries 12 months of coverage. That is the shortest of any brand we cover: Woodland Mills gives 3 years, Wallenstein 5, and the Woodmaxx MX-Series 7. Extended coverage is offered as a paid add-on.

Length is only half the issue. With no dealer network, there is nobody local to perform a warranty repair. Parts ship from the NC and CA warehouses, and to Farmry’s credit they are stocked and individually priced rather than sold only as assemblies — a blade kit is $39.50, a GATES belt pair $89, a clutch assembly $69, a gearbox $219. But one Trustpilot owner with a pinhole leak in a backhoe hydraulic reservoir could not get Farmry to locate anyone able to do the repair.

So budget for self-service. If you already wrench on your own equipment, this is a manageable trade for the price. If you want someone to stand behind the machine in year three, buy a brand with a dealer or a longer warranty.

04

Model names do not match across Farmry's own site

This catches people out when cross-shopping, so it is worth stating plainly. The WCAP5 is sold at a URL containing wcap130, and Farmry’s bundle listings still call it a WCAP130. Farmry confirms the two are the same machine: “WCAP5 is simply the updated model designation for the WCAP130 series,” with identical design, capacity, and performance.

Separately, the machine titled WCAP5 PRO appears in Farmry’s spec tables as the CP85 and lives at a cp85 URL. One machine, three names. If you are comparing a WCAP130 quote against a WCAP5 listing, or a CP85 against a WCAP5 PRO, you are looking at one product in each case.

There is also a WCPH6 — a 6-inch hydraulic-feed PTO chipper for 20–75 HP tractors, listed at $2,999 in Farmry’s own comparison table, described across their blog, and supported by a published manual and three live spare-part listings. It has no reachable product page, and we could not order it as of September 2026. It would be the most competitive chipper Farmry sells, so it is worth asking about, but treat the price as unconfirmed.

05

What we cannot tell you about Farmry chippers yet

There are effectively no independent owner reports for any Farmry chipper. Woodland Mills has 25-plus detailed WC68 threads on TractorByNet alone; Farmry has one thread asking whether anyone has experience with the brand at all. What discussion exists covers their flail mowers, and the themes there are mixed — owners praising value and reporting no failures, alongside concerns about thin sheet metal and a cantilevered lift-pin design.

Farmry also publishes no flywheel or disc weight for any chipper. Disc diameter and thickness are given, but without mass we cannot compare momentum against a Woodland Mills or Woodmaxx machine, and we are not going to estimate it.

The return policy is the least documented of any brand here. Farmry links a Return & Refund Policy from the footer but states no window, restocking fee, or RMA process on its product pages. Get the terms in writing before ordering.

Our ratings on these machines therefore rest on published specification and company-level evidence, not on durability data. We will revisit as owner reports appear.

Company reviewResearched September 27, 2026

Is Farmry a good company to buy from?

Beyond product specs — what the actual buying experience looks like: ordering, delivery, customer service, returns, and warranty claims.

Trustpilot
4.4/5
Excellent
Founded
Not disclosed
117 Innovation Drive, Statesville, NC 28677
01

How you buy

Sales channels
farmry.com (direct)
Typical lead time
Quoted 11–14 business days, leaving the warehouse within 1 week. Reviewers report both under-a-week deliveries and multi-week delays where stock status was wrong at order time.
Shipping method
Free freight from US warehouses in North Carolina and California. Chippers ship crated on a pallet.
Shipping cost
Free shipping on all equipment
Packaging
Wooden crates, individually specified per model — the WCAP5 crate is 42 × 32 × 39 in at 464 lb against a 412 lb machine. Packaging quality is praised in reviews; one reviewer specifically called out excellent crating.
Business model
Direct-to-consumer via farmry.com. No dealer network, no Amazon storefront. Broad tractor-attachment catalog — chippers are a minority of the range alongside flail mowers, stump grinders, backhoes, and snow blowers.
02

Customer service reputation

Support channels
Phone +1-980-239-7164 (Mon–Fri 9:00–5:30 ET), info@farmry.com (pre-sale), logistics@farmry.com (orders and shipping), service@farmry.com (warranty and parts)
Responsiveness
Genuinely split, and split by individual. Multiple reviewers call service 'top notch' with rapid responses, and one repeat chipper buyer had Farmry techs fabricate a custom quick-hitch bracket for him. Others describe buy-side service as poor on lost or delayed orders, while still naming individual reps who helped. The separate routing for pre-sale, logistics, and after-sales is better structured than most brands this size.
Forum reputation
Almost non-existent, which is itself the finding. Farmry chippers have no meaningful presence on TractorByNet, Green Tractor Talk, or Arborist Site. The handful of threads that exist discuss their flail mowers and group Farmry with Titan and MechMaxx as the same import pattern. One TractorByNet thread asks whether anyone has any experience with the brand at all.
03

Returns & warranty claims

Return window
Dealer-dependent
Return shipping
Not published
Return notes
Farmry links a Return & Refund Policy from the site footer, but does not state the return window, restocking fee, or RMA process anywhere on its product pages. This is the least documented return policy of any brand we cover — confirm the terms in writing before ordering.
Warranty coverage
12 months on all equipment, with extended coverage offered as an add-on. This is the shortest warranty of any brand we cover, against 3 years for Woodland Mills, 5 for Wallenstein, and 7 on the Woodmaxx MX-Series.
Claim process
Email service@farmry.com. Parts ship from the NC and CA warehouses, and Farmry stocks consumables individually rather than only as assemblies. With no dealer network there is no in-person warranty service — treat the coverage as a parts-shipping promise, not a repair promise.
04

Common issues owners report

Stock shown as available at order time, then multi-week delay before shipping
Frequency: Recurring (most common Trustpilot complaint)
Resolution:No systemic fix evident; several reviewers docked a star for stock accuracy while praising the equipment itself
No repair pathway for a warranty fault, only parts
Frequency: Reported
Resolution:One backhoe owner with a pinhole leak in the hydraulic reservoir could not get Farmry to locate anyone able to perform the repair. Budget for self-service.
Heavy components and thin assembly instructions
Frequency: Common
Resolution:Reviewers describe assembly as straightforward but awkward alone; plan for a second pair of hands on the 400 lb chippers
Counterfeit storefronts using the Farmry name
Frequency: Active
Resolution:Farmry publicly disowns farmry-usa.shop as unauthorized. Order only from farmry.com.
On-site review badge shows 4.6 stars while the Trustpilot profile it links to shows 4.4
Frequency: Site-wide
Resolution:Cosmetic, but cite the Trustpilot figure rather than the badge
05

Our verdict on Farmry as a company

Farmry is the value-import brand that handles the buying experience best. Its 4.4/5 Trustpilot score across 472 reviews and clean BBB record are materially better than MechMaxx's 2.9 and BBB 'F', it discloses its overseas manufacturing on its own site rather than obscuring it, and it stocks and individually prices consumables from two US warehouses. The weaknesses are structural rather than reputational: a 12-month warranty that is the shortest in the category, no dealer network and therefore no real repair pathway, an unpublished return policy, and recurring stock-accuracy problems. Buy Farmry if the budget is the binding constraint and you service your own equipment. If you need someone to stand behind the machine in three years, buy Woodland Mills or Woodmaxx.

FAQ08 questions

Frequently asked questions

01
Is Farmry a legit company?
Yes. Farmry is a direct-to-consumer tractor-attachment retailer based at 117 Innovation Drive, Statesville, NC, shipping from warehouses in North Carolina and California. It holds 4.4 out of 5 from 472 Trustpilot reviews on a claimed profile, with no BBB complaint record we could find. The main caveats are a 12-month warranty, no dealer network, an unpublished return policy, and recurring stock-accuracy complaints. Farmry also warns that farmry-usa.shop is an unauthorized site using its name.
02
Where is Farmry equipment made?
Overseas. Farmry states on its own Our Story page that it uses "overseas production partners" and describes its model as "global manufacturing, proudly supported in the USA," with stock inspected and shipped from US warehouses. The component evidence points to China: bearings specified to GB/T standards, 4CrSi blade steel, and DUCAR and Rato engines, all Chinese.
03
Which Farmry wood chipper should I buy?
The WCAP5 at $1,698 for most buyers with a tractor. It has the largest disc (25 inches), the most blades (four), and the widest throat (5 × 9 inches) in Farmry's PTO line, and costs $201 less than the CP85 that Farmry badges as the PRO. If you have no tractor, the CG84 gas model is the only Farmry chipper above 2 inches, though at $1,999 it costs more than the WCAP5 for less capacity.
04
Is the Farmry WCAP5 PRO better than the WCAP5?
Not straightforwardly. The CP85 WCAP5 PRO costs $201 more and has a smaller 22-inch disc, two blades instead of four, a narrower throat, and 26 lb less mass. What it adds is a speed-increasing gearbox that doubles disc speed to 1,080 RPM for about 25% more throughput, plus tool-free blade access and Cat 1N hitch compatibility. Better for volume in green material; worse for seasoned hardwood.
05
Are Farmry wood chippers really 5 inches?
The WCAP5's product page rates it for 4 inches in dry wood and 5 inches in fresh or wet wood, so the headline 5-inch figure is a green-wood rating. Farmry publishes no dry-wood figure for the CP85, so assume its 5-inch rating is also green wood until they confirm otherwise.
06
What is Farmry's warranty?
12 months on all equipment, with paid extended coverage available. That is the shortest warranty of any brand we cover, against 3 years for Woodland Mills, 5 for Wallenstein, and 7 on the Woodmaxx MX-Series. Because there is no dealer network, treat it as a parts-shipping promise rather than a repair promise and budget for self-service.
07
Farmry vs MechMaxx — which is better?
Farmry for the buying experience and for 5-inch PTO capacity per dollar; MechMaxx for gas engines and warranty length. Farmry rates 4.4 on Trustpilot against MechMaxx's 2.9, and has no BBB complaint record where MechMaxx holds an "F". MechMaxx counters with genuine Honda GX engines on the DCH7 and PowerDCH7, a deeper gas lineup, and 2-year coverage on commercial models against Farmry's 12 months. Neither is the right answer if you can reach a Woodland Mills WC46 or WC68.
08
Does Farmry have a dealer network?
No. Farmry sells direct through farmry.com only — no dealers, no Amazon storefront. Support runs through phone and three separate email addresses for pre-sale, logistics, and after-sales warranty and parts. That means no local pre-delivery prep, no test-fitting on your tractor, and no in-person warranty service.